ABCF-a new initiative empowering African scientists to solve Africa’s agricultural challenges



The Africa Biosciences Challenge Fund (ABCF), managed by the BecA-ILRI Hub, provides fellowships to scientists and graduate students from African national agricultural research organizations and universities to undertake biosciences research-for-development projects at the BecA-ILRI Hub.

The purpose of the ABCF fellowship program is to develop capacity for agricultural biosciences research in Africa, to support research projects that ultimately contribute towards increasing food and nutritional security or food safety in Africa, and to facilitate access to the BecA-ILRI Hub by African researchers.

We seek applicants with innovative ideas for short to medium term research projects (up to 12 months) that can be undertaken at the BecA-ILRI Hub. Projects must be in the areas of food and nutritional security or food safety in Africa.

The ABCF Research Fellowship programme is supported by the Australian Government through a partnership between Australia's Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) and the BecA-ILRI Hub; and by the Syngenta Foundation for Sustainable Agriculture (SFSA), the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation (BMGF), and the Swedish Ministry of Foreign Affairs through the Swedish International Development Agency (Sida).

Projects include, but are not limited to, epidemiology of the African swine fever virus, marker development for improving orphan crops as well as animal diversity projects on African indigenous chickens, domestic cavies and indigenous goats. These projects have been led by scientists from national programmes and universities in sub-Saharan Africa, supported by an international network of leading scientists – utilising equipment and skills that they would not have access to otherwise.

The following countries from which the ABCF fellows are drawn, have links to fellowship recipients and details about their research projects.

Meet the ABCF Fellows

In this directory you will find the names of all the ABCF fellowship recipients listed by country.


Central Africa Republic
Congo Brazzaville
Democratic Republic of Congo
Equatorial Guinea
Sao Tome and Principe
South Sudan

The 2016 ABCF call is available here.

View a map with ABCF fellows from 2010 - 2013 here: