BecA Director awarded the 2011 TWAS Prize for Agricultural Sciences

The Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS) is awarding the 2011 TWAS Prize for Agricultural Sciences to Segenet Kelemu “For her discovery of beneficial endophytic fungi and bacteria in the most economically important tropical forage grass Brachiaria and for her outstanding contribution to our understanding of their roles in plant development and environmental fitness.”  TWAS Prizes are awarded to individual scientists in developing countries in recognition of an outstanding contribution to knowledge in eight fields of science: agricultural sciences, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, engineering sciences, mathematics, medical sciences and physics.


The prize is a testament to Segenet’s world-class record of scientific achievement and innovation.  It will be presented to her during the TWAS General Conference next year. For more information see


Leave your comments

terms and condition.

People in this conversation

Share this post
FaceBook  Twitter  

Recent News View all News

Photo Gallery View all Photos

BecA Hub Videos

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required