BecA-ILRI Hub Director receives prestigious TWAS award

The Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS) awarded Segenet Kelemu the 2011 TWAS Prize for Agricultural Sciences during the 23rd TWAS General Meeting in Tianjin on Tuesday 18 September. The award was presented to her by the Chinese President Hu Jintao “for her discovery of beneficial endophytic fungi and bacteria in the tropical forage grass Brachiaria and for her contributions to the understanding of their roles in plant development and environmental fitness.

Segenet Kelemu in BecA-ILRI Hub office

Aside from receiving the prestigious award, Segenet was given the opportunity to speak about her experiences in conducting top-notch research to the general assembly.
Each year, the TWAS Prizes are awarded to individual scientists in developing countries in recognition of an outstanding contribution to knowledge in eight fields of science: agricultural sciences, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, engineering sciences, mathematics, medical sciences and physics. This prize is a testament to Segenet’s world-class record of scientific achievement and innovation.

Visit this link to watch a video clip of the award ceremony at the 23rd TWAS General meeting opening ceremony:


Leave your comments

terms and condition.
  • No comments found
Share this post
FaceBook  Twitter  

Recent News View all News

Photo Gallery View all Photos

BecA Hub Videos

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required