African Women in Agricultural Research and Development (AWARD) Call for Applications for 2015 AWARD Fellowships

Established in 2008, African Women in Agricultural Research and Development (AWARD) was launched following a successful three-year pilot program in East Africa supported by the Rockefeller Foundation from 2005-2008.

AWARD is a career-development program that equips top women agricultural scientists across sub-Saharan Africa to accelerate agricultural gains by strengthening their research and leadership skills, through tailored fellowships. AWARD is a catalyst for innovations with high potential to contribute to the prosperity and well-being of African smallholder farmers, most of whom are women.

AWARD Fellows benefit from a two-year career-development program focused on fostering mentoring partnerships, building science skills, and developing leadership capacity. Following a highly competitive process, the fellowships are awarded on the basis of intellectual merit, leadership capacity, and the potential of the scientist's research to improve the daily lives of smallholder farmers, especially women.

Since its inception, AWARD has received applications from more than 3,500 women for a total of 390 available fellowships. On average, only the top nine percent of applicants are selected each year.

To date, 390 African women scientists from 11 countries (Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, and Zambia) have benefited directly as AWARD Fellows.

AWARD partners with more than 200 organizations and institutions, including many national institutes of agricultural research.

For more information on eligibility, visit the AWARD website

To apply online for the 2015 AWARD Fellowships now on-line, click here.

See FAQ for more details.

Leave your comments

terms and condition.
  • No comments found
Share this post
FaceBook  Twitter  

Recent News View all News

Photo Gallery View all Photos

BecA Hub Videos

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required